What’s on your pancake?

Happy Pancake Day!

I for one, can’t wait to race home tonight and make pancakes tonight. We are discussing our favourite recipes here at Divine, I like mine with either raisins or melted orange chocolate. Charlotte likes hers American – spongy with maple syrup and Rosanna likes hers with lots of melted dark chocolate and crème fraiche with a few raspberries round the side.

One recipe we can thoroughly recommend is the chocolate trio from our recipe book by Linda Collister

Ingredients

3 different flavours of 100g Divine (flavours of your choice)

125ml Double cream

Tablespoon of liquor – rum or brandy

Method

Break up bars in separate heatproof bowls and melt gently over steaming water. Remove bowls from heat.

Heat cream until very hot but not boiling then stir in equal amounts into each of the chocolate bowls.

Add a tablespoon of liquor if you wish.

Pour on to pancakes and enjoy!

For perfect pancakes, we love this site by Tate and Lyle

Do you have a great pancake recipe you would like to share?

Post below and we’ll send the most creative pancaker a selection of chocolate.

43 Responses to What’s on your pancake?

  1. cheryl pasquier says:

    Warm poached pear, melted chocolate and toasted almonds … then topped off with a dollop of vanilla ice cream and/or a squirt of whipped cream. Yummm !

  2. Alison says:

    Melted chocolate, toffee sauce and a touch of contreau, served with icecream

  3. My favourite pancake is a thin sweet pancake, rolled around some finely sliced banana and smothered in melted Divine 70% Dark Chocolate! If you’re being super indulgent, you can always add some cream (but quality cream, no squirty stuff allowed here)

  4. megan says:

    my favorite is to put cinnamon chips in the batter with my normal favorite syrup. simple and sweet!

  5. Ricotta Hotcakes with Honeycombe butter, Maple Syrup and bananas. They’re utterly delicious.

  6. Gemma says:

    Hopefully lemon and syrup on home made pancakes, its sweet, comforting and reminds me of my childhood :)

  7. chicida says:

    Lemon and sugar! unbeatable. With bacon and sugar as a good second. Feels so wrong but tastes so good! ;)

  8. Nando says:

    My favourite would be dark chocolate or nutella, with some vanilla ice-cream.

  9. my favourite pancake is with melted chocolate spread over the pancake topped with chopped bannana and strawberries and then a dollop of clotted cream, you really cant beat it

  10. Sarah Keery says:

    Make the batter then, before frying, add 50g grated chocolate – divine!

  11. Moranna says:

    Pancakes – yummy. chocolate, lemon, raisins anything you like!!

  12. Kit says:

    I’ll be eating a bar of chocolate tonight, with a token piece of pancake on top ;)

  13. Peanut butter and maple syrup!

  14. natrdg says:

    this morning my birthday girl wife and I ordered pancakes stuffed with strawberrys but the waitress brought us french toast instead. I guess it doesn’t count but we tried.

  15. thebrokenwindow says:

    I do love some chocolate-chocolate chip pancakes once in a while

  16. kdm3d says:

    1 cup of flour
    1/2 cup of cornmeal
    4 tsp baking powder
    1.5 cups of milk
    2 eggs
    3 Tbls buter, melted
    pinch of sugar to taste (can omit)

    Optional ingredients:

    1/2 cup (to taste) chopped walnuts or pecans
    1 cup blueberries or chopped banana

    Mix first three ingredients
    Quickly mix eggs in milk without overbeating
    Pour milk mixture into melted butter and into dry ingredients. Mix with a few strokes, fold in optional ingredients if desired. let sit 5 minutes.

    Chocolate Ganache

    1/2 – 1 cup bittersweet chocolate
    1 tblsp heavy cream
    1 oz Chambord or Grand Marnier (to taste)

    Heat chocolate and cream over double boiler, add liqueur when smooth.

    Can be done in microwave, if cream is added to chocolate before heating. Times and temps vary. I use 25 sec. on high.

    Cook pancakes on hot pan, flip when center begins to lightly bubble. Top with chocolate and a small amount of the fresh fruit that is contained within the pancake. If no special fillings are used, add fresh raspberries….
    Top with chocolate ganache

  17. Bananas. Pure and simple. Put a bit of dark chocolate, or nutella on the side. ..Ahh So good.

  18. Jason says:

    peanut butter and syrup mmm mmm good!!

  19. Lakia says:

    I don’t eat pancakes too often, but when I do, they are amazing… I love McDonalds

  20. […] Fast you can join in with. For now, I’m off to make some pancakes, having come across these Divine dishes, my mouth is watering […]

  21. Slamdunk says:

    Sounds great. I like pancakes with some kind of fruit syrup.

  22. sylwilson says:

    I had some years ago that had an amaretto flavor – if anyone knows the recipe, I would love to have it! Thanks!

  23. ctrlzworld says:

    mmm! I love the Thai “pancakes”–almost like a crepe, which bananna, coconut, and coconut sugar-syrup. Oh YEAH!

  24. Darcy B says:

    Mascarpone cheese and Divine chocolate shavings then I roll them up –so everything gets melty–and it is heaven on Earth!!!

  25. John says:

    I looove pancakes, I haven’t done this in forever, but yeah what was said a few comments above mine, Peanut butter and syrup, omg good.

  26. Pancakes with chocolate are great. Crepes with chocolate even better because the ratio of chocolate to the other food is getting higher on the chocolate side.
    Quick question: In your ‘about Divine’ page ou mention your chocolate is fair trade certified which is excellent for the farmers. Is the chocolate certified organic? Just curious since many of the fair trade chocolates on the market like coco camino are fair trade and organic.
    I will look out for your response.
    Thank you,
    David
    http://www.TheWonderTechnique.com

  27. Gloris says:

    Pancakes for dinner tonight! Mounds Bar Pancakes: toss choco chips and toasted, shredded cocnut into the batter. mmmmmm…. add some extra time on the stationary bike to make up for it. :)

  28. Nina says:

    I’m getting hungry just thinking about this! Fluffy buttermilk pancakes with a thin spread of cream cheese and homemade cherry pie topping… topped by another fluffy, melt-in-your-mouth buttermilk pancake. Pour a bit of melted chocolate over both of them, and top with a dollop of whipped cream if you’d like!

    It’s so delicious, warm, and filling – WORTH THE CALORIES. And the prep time. Especially when you’re sitting next to people you love!

  29. Mel says:

    What a delicious post!

    My favourite pancakes are topped with lemon splashes and sugar sprinkles.

    Sometimes I add black pepper into my batter too, which adds something magical to it.

  30. I like mine with dark chocolate or nutella with some vanilla ice-cream. Yummy!

  31. 1jobsin says:

    peanut butter and syrup…
    yummy

  32. keeploving says:

    Peanut Butter and Syrup. Delicious.

  33. Bronwyn Reynolds says:

    MMMM pancakes with hazelnutsand dark chocolate chunks, topped with fresh strawberries, marionberries and dark chocolate ganache. And of course whipped cream wih a perfect blanched hazelnut on top.

  34. Ashley C says:

    I like my pancakes swedish style. Its like a pancake crepe lol. Its best with homemade butter and warm peaches from our orchard (or our wild blackberries made into a syrup!). Something Id like to try is mixing our home grown blueberries with some of your dark chocolate though. That would be simply Divine!

  35. Great post. I like my pancakes with butter. Not so much that you can see, just enough that it melts on them warm and they’re more like hot and fluffy pieces of light bread.

  36. Sweet potato pancakes with peach syrup, peaches and toasted pecans! recipe: http://wp.me/pLjUD-42 , but three different flavors of Divine looks like it’s hard to beat! Where can I get some?

  37. nicolerigets says:

    I enjoyed this posting and the comments so much; especially Kit’s.

    I checked out Divine. By coincidence I had been given the Strawberry and White Chocolate Bar on Valentines Day and loved it; even saved the wrapper for a future collage.

    I have posted my Family’s “50-Year Old Recipe for Golden Pancakes” on my Blog under the category ‘Food’ in the December Archives
    http://www.nicolerigetsdesign.wordpress.com

    These rise up just like cake and have a similar texture. All kinds of toppings would suit them. Be sure to visit the Dark Caffe on my Blogroll for delicious coffee recipes to accompany your treats.

    Will visit again soon,
    Nicole

  38. Sam Clore says:

    Peanut butter

  39. Pancakes are the one thing I end up sharing wherever I go. They’ve been a hit in Panama, India, and Armenia. Here everyone is asking for a recipe. Unfortunately, there’s no syrup here, so we have to get creative on toppings. The favorite here is homemade applesauce. Lots of cinnamon!

  40. Laura says:

    Thank you to everyone who gave their pancake suggestions! I’m pleased to announce Kit is the winner with her comment

    ‘I’ll be eating a bar of chocolate tonight, with a token piece of pancake on top ;)

  41. ashleythinks says:

    Oh man that looks delish

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

