Kuapa Kokoo women hone their batik and tie-dye skills

Seth Gogoe of Twin sporting his Amankwatia batik shirt

While we were in Ghana for the Kuapa Kokoo AGM, Sophi and I met up with the new Gender Policy manager Monica Aidoo-Dadzie. She joined six months ago and has already visited all 46 Kuapa Women’s groups and will be working closely with them.  In her office she had some wonderful samples of batik made by the Amankwatia Women’s Group (I remember meeting them on one of my first trips – now their leader Juliana Fremah is on the National Executive – I knew she was destined for great things!).

Sophi in her Kuapa print suit, KK President Christiana Ohene-Agyare in a magnificent Kente dress, and me in the dress made from Amankwatia batik

We ended up buying two shirts (see Seth from Twin wearing one of them here), Sophi bought a dress (here she is wearing it when she planted a cocoa tree at New Koforidua), and I bought some fabric, which the local miracle seamstresses transformed into a dress overnight that I could wear to the AGM.  Most of the pieces we saw feature the West African Adinkra symbols you can also see on Divine packaging. There were lots of other designs and styles – we think they have great potential….. hope that with a little more development and marketing they can sell more in Ghana – and beyond.

Sophi in her Amankwatia dress looking at cocoa seedlings

5 Responses to Kuapa Kokoo women hone their batik and tie-dye skills

  1. love batik, look forward to being able to buy some in the uk

  2. Frankie Dean-Deliu says:

    Wonderful! I pray for success for your fabrik. I would like to purchase some and sell some also here in the USA. please let me know how this can be acheived.

    Be blessed.
    Frankie

  3. Ilhamsyah says:

    Awesome,,,, it’s so beautiful. I love batik.
    I’m from Indonesia, and our country have batik too

Leave a Reply

