A cocoa farmer remembers his first trip to UK

Elias Mohammed took his first flight out of Ghana this year to join Divine Chocolate as an ambassador for Kuapa Kokoo  on a tour round UK for Fairtrade Fortnight.  Here he remembers his impressions of the visit:

Elias Mohammed

Elias Mohammed by his scales at Bayerebon3 (photo: Kim Naylor)

Bayerebon No. 3 society, where I am recorder sees a lot of visitors from all over the world every year! People in my village always asked me one question I was never able to answer “da ben n’abrofo be ba abe fa wo ako won kuromu?” (when will the whites invite you to their country)? I had heard many tales of how beautiful “Abrokyire”(abroad) is and I always imagined myself there.

My dreams came true early this year when I was selected to participate in the Fairtrade fortnight! I was so excited. My wives were elated when I informed them about the trip. I was in high spirits until I was refused a visa! I thought that was the end but thanks to Divine Chocolate, I was eventually issued a visa after an appeal. This problem cut short my stay by two days!

 The flight was good and the food was even better. I thought the Airport in Ghana was big and beautiful until we reached Heathrow. I couldn’t believe my eyes! It is so big, beautiful and busy!  David of Divine Chocolate whisked me immediately to my hotel after going through immigration process.

My days in the UK were very interesting. I met many people: Fairtrade officials, other producers like me, school children etc.  We had a very busy schedule travelling from place to place in England and in Scotland to attend events and give speeches. I really enjoyed the encounter with school children. The enthusiasm of the supporters of Fairtrade and their love of Divine Chocolate encouraged me to always produce beans that are Pa pa paa (best of the best!).

Elias asked if he could visit a farm – here he is with Agnes and Wendy meeting Martin at Ripple Farm in Kent

Elias talking to pupils at Dunbar Primary School

Upon my return to Ghana, everyone calls me “Burger” (a term used to describe people who have just returned from abroad). I feel proud when people call me that. I admit I would have liked more time to go shopping and more sight-seeing,  but I think  my trip was very successful.

The high point of my visit was people smiling and saying thank you after my presentation.

 

2 Responses to A cocoa farmer remembers his first trip to UK

  1. vera dyke says:

    hi i really enjoyed the story of Elias ,and was pleased that he enjoyed his trip shame he lost two days, and he never mentioned about going shopping, or seeing the historical sites? never mind let’s hope he get’s another bite of the cherry before long!!!!! Vera Dyke

  2. marion cheatham says:

    It was wonderful to hear Elias say he loved the smiles of people in this country, with all the economic problems and we do seem to smile less, yet we all have so much more than Elias and his people do. Hope he managed to get some gifts for his wives. Great that you were able to sort out his visa but sorry he lost two days of his trip. I would be interested to know what he thought of our food, weather and other similar matters, it might surprise us all. ~Thanks to him and his fellow growers for the chocolate.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

